interior designers of canada designers d'intérieur du canada

Left to right: Sean Crawford, Shannon Robinson, Keshia Caplette, Christine Weber Craik, Paola Marques, Jennifer Wiwchar-Fast, Joanna Tiffin, Kathryn Lawrence, and Sandra Lester (top, on screen).

Interior Designers of Canada (IDC) held its 51st AGM at the Teknion showroom in Toronto, Ont. on Friday, Oct. 27, 2023, which was attended in person and via Zoom by members across the country.

The AGM wrapped the IDC Design Symposium, which was presented by, Benjamin Moore, Lutron, Fisher and Paykel, and Teknion.

The Nominating Committee, chaired by Past President, Ian Rolston, issued a call for nominations to the membership in late June, for five Director positions. Among many qualified applicants, five candidates were announced for endorsement and were unanimously approved by membership. Those members are Paola Marques from Quebec, Kathryn Lawrence from Ontario, Shannon Robinson from Ontario, Sandra Lester from Ontario, and Joanna Tiffin from Ontario. Congratulations to the new board members.

Four new members became IDC Fellows this year. This honour recognizes extraordinary, notable, and significant contributions to the profession and/or the association. Congratulations to Michele Sigurdson, Theo West-Parks, Tiiu Poldma, PhD, and Deborah Rutherford.

Following the AGM, a new IDC President was elected for the incoming year. Congratulations to Jennifer Wiwchar-Fast from Manitoba on the appointment. Keshia Caplette joins the group of exceptional leaders as an IDC’s Past President and will continue to serve on the board until 2024.

Sean Crawford from Alberta was appointed Vice President for the coming year. IDC will share information about current committees and open positions with members soon.

Thank you to Teknion for their support in hosting IDC’s AGM and to all sponsors, partners, and members for helping to make this year’s Design Symposium such a success.

Read more about the 2023-2024 Board of Directors.