Latest News

IDI's Awards Gala Shines

The Interior Designers Institute of British Columbia (IDIBC) held its 28th Annual Awards of Excellence on September 30, 2011 to a full house at the Vancouver Convention Centre. The Awards were held in conjunction with the Interior Design Show West trade day which assured a great turn-out from both Industry and Designer members alike, and provided an opportunity to promote IDC and IDIBC at a booth within the show concurrently.

Guests were entertained at the cocktail and canapé event by the cabaret style jazz band Mimosa and amused by renown Canadian comic Erica Sigurdson who hosted the proceedings. A total of 16 gold, 16 Silver and 13 Bronze awards were given to designers and architects who completed the projects between October 1, 2008 and December 2010.

Platinum Sponsor Millson Technologies was on hand to present the Best of Show award to Public Architecture & Communication Inc., for their project Xthum AT Kwantlen Polytechnic University. Congratulations public! A full list of awards recipients may be viewed here.

Additionally, Millson Technologies kindly donated a Sony Bravia HDTV for a draw in a People's Choice Award this year. All gold winners were displayed at the IDS West show, where show attendees, including the public, were invited to vote for their favourite project. After much ballot-counting, a three way tie for "People's Choice of 2010" has been declared. The three projects are: SFU School for the Contemporary Arts, by Proscenium Architecture and Interiors Inc./CEI Architecture, ORU - Fairmont Restaurant and Granville Island Florist - Fairmont , both by mcfarlane green biggar Architecture + Design Inc. Well Done! Kim Diaz is the lucky winner of the TV.

Congratulations to all our winners, and the volunteers and sponsors who made this event such a great success. Event sponsors may be viewed here.

Click here to view images of the SHINE Awards of Excellence.


National Industry Partners
Caesarstone Canada Williams Sonoma For The Trade Hunter Doulgas Altex Cosentino Mohawk Group
Shaw Contract Arconas Samsung Lauzon Midgley Interface
Benjamin Moore PC350 keilhauer Knoll Levey Industries Architex