Latest News

Shauna Levy, president of Canada’s design museum, honoured at IDC/IIDA Toronto Leaders Breakfast

Interior Designers of Canada (IDC) and the International Interior Design Association (IIDA) presented Shauna Levy, President of Design Exchange (DX) with the prestigious 2015 Leadership Award of Excellence today, at the ninth annual IDC/IIDA Toronto Leaders Breakfast.

Supported by international benefactors, Herman Miller and Interior Design Media, the annual LeadersBreakfast series recognizes outstanding contributions to the interior design industry. The event took place at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre as part of IIDEXCanada.

“Shauna is a design evangelist,” says Susan Wiggins, CEO at IDC. “She is innovative, connected, and has been instrumental in cultivating Toronto’s design community. Given that our members are a part of the community, we appreciate Shauna’s leadership innovation in increasing design awareness.”

Appointed in 2012 as President of Design Exchange (DX), Canada’s only museum dedicated exclusively to the pursuit of design excellence and the preservation of design heritage, Levy is known for her dedication in positioning the city of Toronto as an international design destination. With a mission to capture and educate a vast demographic of supporters for the museum, she has secured renowned exhibits from Canadian and international designers.

“I'm truly honoured to be receiving the Leadership Award of Excellence this year,” says Levy. “Over the last 15 years, I have seen an extremely significant increase in design awareness in Canada. I have also witnessed that it is only when we band together as a community and as an industry, that we are able to make progress and educate a broad demographic on the importance of design to their everyday lives.”

With her significant contributions to the Toronto design scene, the selection for the Leadership Award of Excellence was unanimous.

National Industry Partners
keilhauer Knoll Cosentino Upper Canada Forest Products Caesarstone Canada Tarkett
Midgley Samsung Mohawk Group Benjamin Moore Milliken Lutron
Shaw Contract Hunter Doulgas Levey Industries Architex VICOSTONE