Latest News

Canada's National Interior Design Association Announces 2015/2016 Board

Interior Designers of Canada (IDC), the national advocacy body for the profession of interior design, announced that five new Directors will join its Board of Management. The announcement took place a at IDC’s Annual Meeting, held September 11 at the Alt Hotel in Winnipeg. IDC also welcomes incoming
association President, Aandra Currie Shearer, Interior Designer in Richmond, BC.

As an involved, long-time member of IDAS, Shearer brings valuable association experience to her new role. “The work that IDC undertakes on behalf of its members and supporters is critical to the well-being of the Interior Design profession in Canada” said Shearer. “I am very excited to take on the IDC
presidency, armed with a new strategic plan, to continue to strengthen and diversify the association’s excellent services and programs.”

Having successfully completed his 12-month term as President, Denis Chouinard of Desjardins Group., Lévis, QC, will assume the role of Past-President. Clinton Hummel of Paisley Park Inc., North Bay, ON moves into the 1st Vice-President position. Jason Kasper of IDEATE Design Consulting Inc., Winnipeg, MB has been named 2nd Vice-President.

Pearl Wong of International Civil Aviation Organization, QC and Kathy Johnston Umbach of Human Dimensions Licensed Interior Design Services Inc., AB join the Board as provincial Directors. Also joining the Board is Deborah Rutherford, Brookfield Global Integrated Solutions, ON and Sharon Martens, MartensGroup, AB as Directors at Large and Brenda Snaith, Kwantlen Polytechnic University,BC as Director of Education. Ada Bonini, BYU Design, BC moves into the position of Chair, Board of Governors.

Karin Vandenberg of McCallum Sather Architects Inc., ON continues her term as Director, Intern; along with Andy Stilin, 3M – Architectural Markets, BC, as Director, Industry.

Kara MacGregor of MAC Interior Design Inc., NS; Sally Mills of Omicron AEC Ltd., BC; Karla Korman of Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries, MB; Ellyn Berg of Berg Design and Consulting, SK; Amy Barbour of Stantec Architecture Ltd., NL; Caroline Robbie- Montgomery, Quadrangle Architects Limited, ON and Kimberley Murphy of Kim Murphy Design, NB continue as Directors. Trevor Kruse, Hudson Kruse, ON continues as IIDEX Liaison.

National Industry Partners
Cosentino keilhauer Knoll Levey Industries Mohawk Group Hunter Doulgas
Lutron Architex Milliken Caesarstone Canada Upper Canada Forest Products Benjamin Moore
Samsung Midgley Shaw Contract