IDC/IIDA Leaders Breakfast

Launched as a single event in 1989 and expanded into an annual series, the IIDA Leaders Breakfast has become an iconic event for interior design professionals across North America. The event now stretches from coast to coast and crosses borders with stops in Seattle, Vancouver, New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Dallas, Chicago and Toronto, the final tour stop of the series.

Each Breakfast features a locally selected renowned keynote speaker that invokes, encourages and inspires attendees. Each host committee also selects an honouree in their local community, who most embodies leadership characteristics through their contributions to the industry.

Throughout the years, Herman Miller has presented recipients of the Leadership of Excellence Award with an innovative and steadfast symbol of design excellence. Until late 2014, Herman Miller honored award recipients with a molded plywood splint in its original packaging from World War II designed by Charles and Ray Eames. With the splint in limited quantities and held in the Herman Miller archives, Herman Miller produced a special edition stool made from sustainable ash, stained in a signature translucent aniline red, a favorite color of Charles and Ray Eames. Exclusive only to Leaders Breakfast award recipients, the stool is now the symbol of the Leaders Breakfast series. A specialty book about the history of the stool, including a framed print from the Herman Miller design archives, accompanies the award.

Our national benefactors:  

 HermanMiller Logo Interior Design Magazine Logo

Past Honourees

2015: Honouree: Shauna Levy
Keynote: Zita Cobb, Founder and CEO of Shorefast Foundation and Innkeeper of the Fogo Island Inn.
Venue: Metro Toronto Convention Centre

2014: Honourees: Lynn McGregor and Peter Grimley
Keynote: Cameron Bailey, Head Programmer for TIFF (Toronto International Film Festival)
Venue: Metro Toronto Convention Centre

2013: Honouree: Tracy Bowie
Keynote: terry O’Reilly, radio personality, producer and author
Venue: new Four Seasons Hotel

2012: Honouree: Ray Staples
Keynote: John Fleuvog, shoe designer and retailer
Venue: new Four Seasons Hotel

2011: Honouree: Susan Wiggins
Keynote: Janice Price, President of Luminato Arts Festival
Venue: Ritz Hotel

2010: Honouree: Les Muniak
Keynote: Paul Lavoie, President, TAXI Ad Agency
Venue: Four Seasons Hotel

2009: Honouree: Joe Pettipas
Keynote: Edward Burtynsky, Photographer
Venue: Four Seasons Hotel

2008: Honouree: Arlene Gould
Keynote: Joel Cohen, Writer The Simpsons TV Show
Venue: Four Seasons Hotel

2007 Honouree: Trevor Kruse
Keynote: Lynn Heward, Cirque du Soliel
Venue: Park Plaza Hotel

2014: Honouree: Cornelia Hahn Oberlander
Keynote: Christopher Gaze, head of Shakespere Festival in BC
Venue: Vancouver Convention Centre

2013: Honouree: Sooz Klinkhamer
Keynote: John Fluevog, shoe designer and retailer
Venue: Vancouver Convention Centre

2012: Honouree: Larry Beasley
Keynote: Jay Shuster, PIXAR
Venue: Vancouver Convention Centre

2011: Honouree: Robert Ledingham
Keynote: Trevor Linden, hockey player
Venue: Vancouver Convention Centre

2015: Honouree: Adele Bonetti
Keynote: Chris Fields, Senior Brand Strategist at Twist Marketing
Venue: Stampede Grounds 

National Industry Partners
Levey Industries keilhauer Mohawk Group Hunter Doulgas Shaw Contract Benjamin Moore
Knoll Cosentino Architex Lutron Upper Canada Forest Products Milliken
Midgley Samsung Caesarstone Canada