ID Connections

CIDA Innovative Education Award Winners Announced

Published by Rachael Factor, January 30, 2013.

The Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA) has announced the winners of the 2012 Innovative Interior Design Education Award. This award recognizes and celebrates innovative teaching and program-related practices that advance the cause of excellence in interior design education.

The first place winner is Sarah Strauss, LEED AP, who was a visiting associate professor at Pratt Institute, Brooklyn, NY. Ms. Strauss’s entry, “Tropical Interiors Studio”, modeled experiential learning. The project developed students’ design skills while also exposing them to cultural aspects of design and thoughtfully integrating sustainability issues specific to the unique project site.

Two entries were also recognized with merit awards. Lauren Baumbach, associate professor at Philadelphia University, received a merit award for her entry “Sustainable Bank of the Future 2020 (TD Bank).” Stephanie Brooker, lecturer at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, also received a merit award for the entry “Experiencing Design: An Immersive Studio Exploration.” CIDA is proud to honor these design educators for their exceptional work.

To view the winning entries, please visit

Industry Partners
Altex Interface Patcraft Midgley Shaw Contract Mohawk Group
Arconas CERAGRES Caesarstone Canada HanStone Knoll Benjamin Moore
Williams Sonoma For The Trade Krug Lauzon IIDEX Cosentino Levey Industries
Milliken Hunter Doulgas Architex
Tier 3 Members